Budget Committee

Notice of Budget Committee Meeting

The Bethel School District Budget Committee will hold a meeting to discuss the budget for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024. The meeting will be held May 8, 2023, at 6:30 p.m. in the Bethel School District Administrative Office Boardroom located at 4640 Barger Drive, Eugene, Oregon. The meeting will also be accessible virtually. The purpose of the meeting is to receive the budget message and hear comments from the public on the budget.

Public comment will be taken either in-person, via Zoom Webinar, or in writing and will be limited to three minutes per speaker. To sign up for public comment via Zoom Webinar, please complete this form by noon the day of the meeting. Community members may also submit written comments via email to publiccomment@bethel.k12.or.us. Budget Committee Members will have access to written public comments submitted by noon the day of the meeting. Information to join the meeting virtually will be available on the agenda posted on Bethel School District’s website by noon on Monday, May 8, 2023.

A copy of the budget document may be inspected or obtained on or after May 1, 2023, at the Bethel School District Administration Office located at 4640 Barger Drive, Eugene, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

This is a public meeting where deliberation of the Budget Committee will take place. Any person may join the meeting and discuss the proposed programs with the Budget Committee.

Seeking Budget Committee Members

The Bethel School Board is seeking community members interested in serving on the District’s Budget Committee. The two openings, Positions 3 and 6, are open for 3-year terms.

The Budget Committee provides budget advice and direction, examines the District’s entire budget, and recommends a budget to the School Board. The School Board will select applicants to fill positions. Members with expired terms may reapply. The 3-year term runs through June 30, 2025.

Applicants must be registered voters and must live within the boundaries of the Bethel School District. To learn more about the Budget Committee call 541-689-3280 or visit www.bethel.k12.or.us. Applications are due by 4:00 p.m. on October 28, 2022.

2023-2024 Budget Calendar

The words Budget Finance surrounded by a calculator and finance documentsFEBRUARY 13, 2023: Board reviews Draft 2023-2024 Budget Calendar

FEBRUARY 13, 2023: Appoint Budget Committee Members

FEBRUARY 27, 2023: Board adopts 2023-2024 Budget Calendar/appoints Budget Committee Member

APRIL 3, 2023: All budget materials due from buildings and departments/programs

APRIL 10, 2023: Submit notice to Register Guard

APRIL 16, 2023: Publish first notice of Budget Committee Meeting (5 to 30 days prior to meeting)

MAY 8, 2023: Budget Committee ‘Orientation’, 5:30 p.m.
     –  Proposed Budget Document/Budget Message presented to the Budget Committee
     – First Budget Committee Meeting, District Office, 6:30 p.m.

MAY 11, 2023: Budget Committee Meeting at District Office, 5:30 p.m. Discussion of proposed budgets for Elementary, K-8, Middle School and High School Programs, Administration, Special Services, All Schools, Other Funds and General Fund Revenue

Approval of Budget

MAY 18, 2023: Alternative date for approval of the budget, District Office, 6:30 p.m.

JUNE 11, 2023: Publication of NOTICE OF BUDGET HEARING, FINANCIAL SUMMARY, and FUND  SUMMARIES (not more than 25 nor less than 5 days prior)

JUNE 26, 2023: Public Hearing on Budget
     – Enact resolutions adopting the budget, making the appropriations, and declaring the tax levy

Click here for PDF version of this calendar.

2022-2023 Budget Committee Members

Position 1
James Manning, Jr.
Senator/Community Volunteer

Position 2
Erin Zygaitis
Scrum Master

Position 3
Jenna Hawkins
Parent/Instructional Designer

Position 4
T. Erin Basinger

Position 5
Alan Laisure
Community Volunteer

Position 6
Jennifer Monegan
Parent/Development Director

Position 7
Patrick Farr
Lane County Commissioner


2023-2024 Budget Committee Packets