Ducks Land At Fairfield

UO offensive tackle Jamall Burrell signs autographs for Fairfield 5th graders.

Keeping a promise made two months ago, more than a dozen members of the University of Oregon football team paid a visit to Fairfield Elementary.

Stopping in the 5th grade classrooms, the Ducks spent time promoting the idea of planning for college now, answering questions, and signing autographs.

The players’ visit stems from a challenge made by UO Assistant Athletic Director James Harris in December. He promised that football players would visit their school if Fairfield 5th graders Airiell Woodcock, Felicia Harwood, Brandon Barrett, Ricky Church, Wanda Lake and Maximo Cisneros-Solano each read four books by February.

The kids kept their end of the bargain, and so did the Ducks.

Bethel Bond Idea Withdrawn

Bethel voters will not see a bond for school repairs on the May ballot.

The Bethel School Board has decided against asking voters to approve a bond measure for the May ballot. The bond would have funded repairs and upgrades in Bethel’s schools.

Voters throughout Eugene will already be considering an income tax for school operations in May, and the School Board did not want its bond measure being confused with the income tax proposal.

A recent professional survey indicated strong local support for Bethel School District, and support for a bond measure that would have covered repairs, textbook replacements, technology upgrades and student safety mechanisms without raising the current tax rate.

WHS Student To Speak At Rally

Jorge Contreras will be a featured speaker at a rally for education on the steps of the state capitol.

Willamette Senior Jorge Lopez Contreras will be one of the featured speakers at a statewide rally for education at the state capital.

Organized by the child advocacy group Stand For Children, the Salem rally on President’s Day is an attempt to show legislators the strong support for education in Oregon. The annual gathering on the capitol steps attracts hundreds if not thousands of people.

Contreras was a recent winner of a $2,500 Beat the Odds scholarship from Stand For Children. He is also a Mr. Wolverine contestant, a member of the Student Health Center’s Teen Advisory Council, an appointed member of the Superintendent’s Long-Term Budget Planning Committee, and the student representative to the Bethel School Board.

Click here for more information about the President’s Day rally.

WHS Students Respond To South Eugene Tragedy

Willamette students send messages of condolence to South Eugene students on a 15 foot purple banner.

In the wake of the weekend deaths of two South Eugene High School boys, Willamette students are sending their condolences in the form of a 15 foot banner.

WHS students have been encouraged to write personal messages on the banner, which will be delivered to South.

Those involved in the Mr. Wolverine Pageant are behind the idea of the banner because the two South Eugene boys who drowned in an accident on the Oregon coast were part of the Mr. Axeman Pageant. Both school’s popular events are designed to benefit the Children’s Miracle Network.

Search Bethel


Bethel Spirit Awards

***Andrea Woods***

"...has a heart of gold..."

Read More . . .

Nominate someone