Practice And Procedure Pay Off

As a precaution, firefighters check out the Malabon kitchen's rooftop ventilation.

A small fire on a griddle in the Malabon kitchen set off smoke alarms, sending students and staff to the exits.

The fire, caused by cooking oil that splashed onto a griddle, was quickly extinguished, well before firefighters arrived.

Malabon’s regular fire drill practice proved valuable, as 350 kids evacuated the school calmly and orderly. Firefighters also commended the kitchen staff for their quick action.

And while students didn’t get the Pasta Primavera that was on the lunch menu, they enjoyed sack lunches in the classroom while the cafeteria was completely aired out.

Awards Honor Willamette Students

Wrapped in academic honor cords, Chris Buttacovoli accepts another recognition at the Academic and Athletic Awards Program.

For the 43rd consecutive year Willamette students have been recognized at the school’s Academic and Athletic Awards Program.

Hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of scholarships for Willamette seniors were announced from colleges and universities, private foundations, community organizations and businesses.

High-achieving Willamette seniors were also singled out by each academic department in the school. Some were recognized for membership in the National Honor Society, Forensics Honors, and the Music Honor Society.

Graduation for the class of 2011 is June 10th in Wolverine Stadium.

Memorial Day Tradition Continues

Shasta's Symphonic Band performs at the Pioneer Memorial Cemetery during the annual Memorial Day observance.

The Pioneer Memorial Cemetery’s annual Memorial Day observance once again included performances by Shasta’s Symphonic Band and Choir.

Playing and singing inspirationally appropriate songs, the Shasta students have become part of the Memorial Day tradition at the cemetery across from Mac Court on the University of Oregon campus.

The event also included a trumpet solo by Willamette senior Elissa Sherry, a former Shasta Band student.

Fun Day Welcomes Hundreds To Willamette

Kids enjoy fun and games at the Lane ESD's annual Fun Day at Willamette High School.

More than 200 kids turned out for the 7th annual Life Skills Fun Day, hosted by Willamette High School.

Students from throughout Lane County enrolled in Life Skills programs gathered for a day of games, contests, music, a carnival and plenty of laughs.

Organized by the Lane ESD, kids began the event with a parade on the Willamette track.

They also had a chance to drench volunteers in a dunk tank, dance to live music, and run under a billowy bright-colored parachute.

The Fun Day is a chance for all of Lane County’s Special Needs kids and their teachers to get together in one place for nothing but fun activities.

Willamette has made a tradition of hosting the Fun Day, with staff members and students serving as volunteers.

Search Bethel


Bethel Spirit Awards

***Andrea Woods***

"...has a heart of gold..."

Read More . . .

Nominate someone